Public service

City of Brookline Honors Employees During National Public Service Appreciation Week

For immediate release

BROOKLINE — City Administrator Mel Kleckner is pleased to announce that the City of Brookline recognized its employees last week as part of National Public Service Recognition Week.

Celebrated during the first week of May since 1985, PSRW is a national public education campaign designed to honor those who serve as federal, state, county and local employees.

“So many people have gone to great lengths to keep city government running smoothly and efficiently, and many of them are doing it behind the scenes,” Kleckner said. “Public Service Appreciation Week is an opportunity for us to pause and show our appreciation for their efforts, which directly benefit the community. »

To mark PSRW, the City of Brookline invited staff members to nominate their colleagues and peers for recognition. The following city employees were nominated for recognition of their outstanding contributions to Brookline’s efforts to serve its residents and visitors:

  • Zeray Assefa of the Department of Information Technology for 20 years of service to the city and Brookline Public Schools.
  • Javier Rodriguez, Department of Public Works, for his contribution to numerous DPW and highway projects. Rodriguez has been a city employee for 16 years, and during that time worked to become the chief carpenter and play a vital role in snow and ice removal operations during the winter.
  • Ryan Kasala of the human resources department, who joined the city amid the COVID-19 pandemic and has taken an active role in supporting contact tracing among employees. He has also made many contributions to the city’s work on workers’ compensation and workplace injuries, and demonstrates care and compassion in supporting the employees he works with who face workplace issues. health.
  • Darlene Johnson of the Department of Health for her countless efforts to support the city’s response to COVID-19, including vaccination clinics, disseminating information, and answering questions from residents during the height of the pandemic . She was also instrumental in the success of the voucher program and the redesign of the farmers’ website.
  • David Guzman of Planning and Community Development for his calm and compassionate approach to helping residents in housing crisis, his advocacy for public housing, and his ability to listen, which helps move projects forward.
  • Dai Q. Nguyen of the Department of Health for his thorough approach to supporting public health in the city, including going above and beyond during a transition period for the department to ensure its success in the response to the pandemic. He is also a strong advocate for the well-being of his colleagues by encouraging meditation and mindful breathing which help reduce stress.
  • Todd Kirrane of the Department of Public Works for his tireless work on numerous transportation initiatives and programs at Brookline, including the Transportation Council, Pedestrian Advisory Committee, Bicycle Advisory Committee, and Shared Mobility Advisory Committee . His colleagues admire his leadership in shaping Brookline’s policy and approach to transportation, making the city a safe place to walk, bike, scooter and drive. Kirrane was also instrumental in securing critical grants.
  • Lloyd Lovering, Recreation Department, for his hard work and pride in maintaining the recreation facilities, and his willingness to step in where needed.
  • Maria Morelli, from the Planning Department, for her strong work ethic, her attention to detail and her willingness to help her colleagues achieve their common goals.
  • Ren Avellani of the Department of Information Technology for his caring attitude to others and his tireless work to provide invaluable technical support throughout the city.
  • Lieutenant Walter Francis, Fire Department, for his compassion and empathy in dealing with patients on medical calls, his friendly demeanor and his professionalism which make him a role model for his colleagues.
  • Justin Casanova-Davis, Department of Finance, for his strong performance in his new role as Department Director, including fostering an inclusive atmosphere.
  • Josh Cooke of the Recreation Department for his work in organizing important events and programs such as Summer Camp and Brookline Day. He also contributed to the city’s emergency operations center during the pandemic, bolstering efforts to hold drive-through flu shot clinics in the fall of 2020 and later hosting COVID-19 shot clinics. for employees and residents.
  • Julie Washburn of the Council on Aging for making the Senior Center a welcoming atmosphere, as well as for working tirelessly to ensure Brookline’s older population is protected and receives the services they need while maintaining their independence .
  • Katie MacGillivray and Tiffany Sousa of the Select Board Office, who together form the backbone of the day-to-day work of the Select Board. MacGillivray is a long-time employee and resident who takes many calls from people in the community and is responsible for maintaining numerous municipal records and council minutes. Sousa was known for her ability to put business owners at ease with her extensive knowledge of city and state licensing procedures. Additionally, other city departments rely on Sousa to help with local licensing workflow issues.
  • Shuang Huang, from the IT department, for his team spirit and his motivation to make IT a pleasant place to work.
  • John Buchheit of the Legal Department for his long service to the city and his accomplishments over the past few years.
  • Richard Allen, from the police department.
  • Stéphanie Aucoin, from the Transportation Division of the Department of Public Works, for her commitment to service to citizens.
  • Alex Cassie and Kiara Huntress of the Parks and Open Spaces Division for their excellent work in a number of key areas including the Green Dog program, permit verification, education, event management, l wildlife assistance, goose management, park security and visitor assistance. Huntress and Cassie carry out these various responsibilities with professionalism and pride, and are always willing to help educate park users in an effort to protect the city’s public parks and open spaces for today and for the future. coming.
  • Kaitlin Conneely of the Police Department for her longstanding relationship-building work with students and community members as the department’s Community Services Officer.
  • Christine Hurley, Department of Public Works, for going out of her way to ensure she fosters strong communication with residents and colleagues.
  • The Police Department’s Special Response Team, for their dedicated efforts to protect public safety.

The named staff members were recognized throughout the week on social media for their various contributions to the city and its people.